Some light reading…

Short Excerpt from

The Birthday Dragon

Book One of the Polo Shawcross Journals

****

Smashwords Edition

ISBN 978-1-4580-8526-9

Copyright Polo Shawcross 2011-12

Cover Design and Artwork By Derek Armsden Design

****

Chapter 1 – Somewhere, Somewhen

It was a while before I realised that I wasn’t like the commoners. They were human. Father was human. Grandmama, Mother, and I were only descended from humans. I was also descended from Mother, something that even before I went to school was a worry.

“Though you must never think you are better than anyone, Polo,” Grandmama told me, “just because you’re Blood. All men, and women, are equal. Blood or peasant, we’re all people. Blood might have some advantages but they can be as stupid as the next person. Dragon blood doesn’t stop idiocy.” She curled her lip a little. “Just look at your mother.”

“Shouldn’t say things like that to the boy,” said the day servant, looking up from her book.

“He’s too young to remember,” Grandmama said, “aren’t you dear? You’re my precious.” I beamed up at her. The servant shook her head.

“Your grandson’s precocious and precious, ladyship, don’t say I didn’t warn you. He picked up swearing before he could walk properly.”

“Mostly from his mother,” said Grandmama, her tone sweet as she bounced me, “didn’t you, pet?” I giggled and demanded more bouncing. The servant muffled a laugh and went back to her book….

“Though you must never think you are better than anyone, Polo,” Grandmama told me, “just because you’re Blood. All men, and women, are equal. Blood or peasant, we’re all people. Blood might have some advantages but they can be as stupid as the next person. Dragon blood doesn’t stop idiocy.” She curled her lip a little. “Just look at your mother.”

“Shouldn’t say things like that to the boy,” said the day servant, looking up from her book.

“He’s too young to remember,” Grandmama said, “aren’t you dear? You’re my precious.” I beamed up at her. The servant shook her head.

“Your grandson’s precocious and precious, ladyship, don’t say I didn’t warn you. He picked up swearing before he could walk properly.”

“Mostly from his mother,” said Grandmama, her tone sweet as she bounced me, “didn’t you, pet?” I giggled and demanded more bouncing. The servant muffled a laugh and went back to her book.

****

END OF EXCERPT – You can read more on Smashwords for free (another 25,000 words or so), and the whole book (128,000 words) is available for $4.99 (currently e-book only, but available in printable formats – Yes, Smashwords are Kindle-compatible).

Polo Shawcross is my nom-de-plume

P.S. If you have earlier editions, with the previous version of Chapter 1, you should be able to download the latest edition of the book to see the new one.

Copyright https://stinginthetail.wordpress.com/

About stinginthetail

Australian. Female. On Twitter as @stinginthetail. I write as Polo Shawcross. 1960 vintage. Quite strange. Free sample of my top-rated book The Birthday Dragon at http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/63286 View all posts by stinginthetail

3 responses to “Some light reading…

  • Welcome to the world of Emo PR | Sting in the Tail

    […] Sting in the Tail Taking over, one word at a time. Skip to content HomeIndexIt’s all about meCopyright and Contact ← In celebration of our incredible good fortune… Some light reading… → […]

  • woodenmonkey

    This is great – downloading the sample now, and I’m sure I’ll be buying the book tomorrow.

    • stinginthetail

      Thanks 🙂 it’s so nice when people get a kick out of my words -btw the competition’s still going – you’ve a very good chance of winning if you enter 🙂 24 hours to go (see link at top of this post) [Stop Press – gave away 2 books, to @bastardsheep and @agent_x! congrats, guys]

      If you’d like to (or anyone else who reads the book wants to) you can review and rate it on Smashwords (which helps with the book’s standing on the site)

Leave a Reply

