Are We There Yet?

So, where were we? Ah yes, The Thing – well, it’s coming along – about to be published in June. Note the non-specific nature of “June”. That’s deliberate. Gives me time to stuff the launch up several times.

I had one of those moments, when we realise we can go the traditional way, or not, and decided ‘or not’ was my way. No change there. So i’m starting with an E-book version on Smashwords.

You see, The Thing has turned out rather well. And it occurred to me that if it was a piece of music, i wouldn’t be handing it over to someone else. Not unless they’re offering megabucks.

I read a lot of the experiences of writers as they wrestled with agents, publishers, and finding either one – and having worked in publishing, i already had some inkling of what lay ahead. It occurred to me that circumventing that entire loop would please me greatly.

So that’s the plan. The Thing is having its cover done. I am about to try (for the fifth time, i think) to read over the Smashwords FAQ’s and How-To’s, and see if i have the idea.

I have no idea if i’m doing this right, but i’m doing it.

© 2011 https://stinginthetail.wordpress.com/

About stinginthetail

Australian. Female. On Twitter as @stinginthetail. I write as Polo Shawcross. 1960 vintage. Quite strange. Free sample of my top-rated book The Birthday Dragon at http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/63286 View all posts by stinginthetail

8 responses to “Are We There Yet?

  • Paul Hassing

    Nice one, Sheila! Each time I even glance down the agent/publisher road, I quail at the prospect. So I’m checking out Lulu.com as we speak. I wish you every success in your efforts. Best regards, P. 🙂

    • stinginthetail

      oh yes, another reason to self-publish – give yourself a track record to attract an agent, who can then attract a publisher.

      I also liked Lulu – i can’t remember why i picked Smashwords, i think it was because of ease of use for someone in Australia, in that they provide ISBN numbers even if you’re not in the USA. (No idea if Lulu do that, but ISBN is critical and here in Oz they charge rather steeply for the privilege.

      Thanks for the good wishes, good luck with yours too 🙂

  • Jean

    First of all, it’s great to see you (this post I mean) at the top of my blogroll – after a lonnng time. 🙂

    A BIG Congratulations on bringing The Thing to this stage! Oh yes, and waiting to hear/read more! Maybe you’ll post the cover when it’s done?

  • Twitter Fail

    OMG. OMG. OMG. A fresh blog post! I can stop holding my breath.

    Wait. I’m holding my breath again until I get to see The Thing, live and in person. Or in digital. Whatever.

    I am so psyched. It’s like you’re having a baby, except you get all the good stuff and none of the puking or pooping on you, and you still get a good night’s sleep. This is so exciting!!

    • stinginthetail

      I believe the term is “blogophobia” and i haz now overcome it. 😀 Couldn’t post for … woo, 8 months. (I nearly deleted the whole blog, after my picture place stopped letting wordpress people use pics, which left a bunch of posts with missing pics.)

      I’m psyched too – am started on Thing2, but really can’t get right into it until i can let go of Book 1. Soon! 😛

  • derekandkong

    Post the cover! Post the cover! 😛

Leave a Reply

