I’m not blogging…

You can’t expect me to blog. Seriously, i have so much to do. The Thing (my work in fitful and erratic progress) is in full-blown mow-me-down-with-narrative mode, and i have no time for blogging. No time for Twitter either. Today i spent about an hour there – longest visit in a while.

My life is reduced to the Word screen while i live in my head, with short breaks for cooking, cleaning, the usual. My imagination knows no limits, but of course, the world i’ve created must have them.

I have reams of spreadsheets, keeping track of it all. How much do people get paid? Can they afford to buy a horse? When is the moon full? Wasn’t it his birthday in a few weeks? When did his aunt turn into a dragon and try to rip his arm off? Would the stitches be out by now?

So many questions, and of course, this is what spreadsheets and notes are for. When it comes to stitches, fortunately Mr Whatsit spent some time working security, and so is an expert on those. He’s also a weapons, armour, and armaments buff, along with being an expert in several martial arts, so i may keep him, he’s very useful for reference and unlike Google, understands hand gestures and plain English.

As some of you may remember, this is actually The Thing Mark II, as i had to kill off the original. It wasn’t working, so i shifted the narrator from the central character to a friend i invented. The friend is intensely useful, and though he has access to the central characters, he’s off on his own trip, so suddenly, the whole novel is making sense. (At effing last.)

Because i have the basic plot already laid out, and lots of characters i already know, it’s reasonably easy to write. I’ve even been able to re-use some of the original Thing, (and its attendant spreadsheets) and edit it into this one. What’s more, i’m enjoying it. I’m working hard, but the results are pleasing me.

I’m currently aiming at 2,000 words a day. (It’s not a lot for me. I can’t type that fast any more, but used to be able to do up to 10k a day.)  So far, in 24 days, i’ve missed that target a few times, but thanks to some days when i topped 3k, it’s evening out. Nearly 46,000 words so far, 64k approximately to go. If i manage to keep up the 2k a day target, i’ll finish in just over a month. (32 days.)

Of course, that’s just to first draft stage. Then i go over it, tighten it up, add pretty bits, spot the deliberate mistakes (ha!), and then ask test-readers what they think. Assuming i don’t get to the point where i think… oops, it’s a crock. That’s where i ended up with the original Thing.

Reading it over, thankfully, i’ve realised i was absolutely right (it wasn’t reading well), whereas so far, Friend of Thing is doing fine.

Fingers crossed, it keeps being fun. Yeah, it’s fun. Why else would i do it?

© https://stinginthetail.wordpress.com

About stinginthetail

Australian. Female. On Twitter as @stinginthetail. I write as Polo Shawcross. 1960 vintage. Quite strange. Free sample of my top-rated book The Birthday Dragon at http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/63286 View all posts by stinginthetail

4 responses to “I’m not blogging…

  • Jean

    64K left (oops). Keep going! 🙂

    I did wonder why I don’t see you much in Twitter, so I came over to see if everything’s fine. 🙂

    @jean_blore

    • stinginthetail

      i write sci fi fantasy (or at least, that’s what The Thing is) so 120k is about standard. I’m aiming at 110k to give myself some leeway for additions or edits.

      I’m fine, thanks for thinking of me 🙂 i thought i better blog before people assumed i was dead. So much for blogging more this year, lol. Nice to ‘see’ you.

  • Kristinmoore2

    Can’t wait, I also have the perfect test reader at home when you need one!

    • stinginthetail

      god, i hope i have something to show people after this one – after 6 months on old Thing, was a bit embarrassing to have to kill it 🙂 Thanks for the offer re: a reader, it’s noted.

Leave a Reply

