Blogging in the dark…

…is where I’m at. You know, that point on a blog where nobody’s watching. Well, i think it’s four people in the whole world, all of whom know me from another site. I am pretty much nattering away to myself, changing header and page style three times a day, (as I discover new bits of the site – fantastic support pages here).

I found the Preview Button at last! And the Save Draft one.  I don’t want my typos on Google. Oh, the shame! I found my comments too, mainly because the site helpfully sent me an email with a link – but now i know where they are. I’m still not good at finding anyone else’s blog unless i already know the name, and haven’t found a good ‘by blogname’ search function, but I’ve found the link to the BlogsOfTheDay and GrowingBlogs. There are some lovely blogs around. And of course, then there’s a new favourite, TackyWeddings.

I actually ended up here because of Jenny the Bloggess. When i saw her blog, while looking for a funny pic of a fascist – they were thin on the ground – but Google offered funny racist as an alternative, and a link to a category on Jenny’s blog called Her Cat’s Toes, which was pretty irresistible. It turns out her vet was kinda racist, in a weird way and I just laughed and laughed.

The minute I had my breath back, I realised my kind of writing didn’t have to stay on an adult site just because i say fuck swear – after all, i’m really not interested in titillating anyone. If people don’t mind Jenny, it’s cool, i can come outside – I’m nowhere near as outrageous as her. Anyone who complains about me  – well, I’ll just say, for heaven’s sake, am I blogging about giant labia? (Give me time, lol.)

Using Humor or even Humour as a search term for good blogs doesn’t seem to work as well as a serendipitous click on Jenny’s blog. What other people think is funny doesn’t do for me. I think it’s internet delusion time. You saying you’re beautiful/very good looking/funny/well-hung will not make you so. Trolls saying it doesn’t do it either.

On the other hand, me saying it, like “I’m hawt, literate, trilingual*, and moderately amusing”,  does make it so. Yes, this is the marvel that is Stinginthetail Fascism® – welcome to my blog. World domination? Pfft. I’ll settle for a new rental house without mould.

come, let me tell you what to do

come, let me tell you what to do

I not actually that autocratic in real life – i just shoot all who disagree allow dissent. *smiles beatifically* I like to make people think, too. (You will think, we haff wayz of making you think!)

If any labia were harmed during the making of this blog, *looks innocent* I’m pretty sure it’s Jenny’s fault.

*trilingual – i am reasonably fluent in UK, US, and Australian English.

Original pic was from oldamericancentury.org
then i changed it
so it’s mine

Oh YES, I just figured out how to stop it double-spacing
every time I hit Enter. It’s Shift-Enter – same as Word.

© stinginthetail.wordpress.com

About stinginthetail

Australian. Female. On Twitter as @stinginthetail. I write as Polo Shawcross. 1960 vintage. Quite strange. Free sample of my top-rated book The Birthday Dragon at http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/63286 View all posts by stinginthetail

7 responses to “Blogging in the dark…

  • Davis

    Hang in there with the blogging. It takes a while to discover everything, but every day it’s a little more fun. (P.S. I like your writing style)

    • stinginthetail

      that’s nice of you to say – i just had a look at your blog – ooh – another discovery (hehehe, tickled me, especially the piece on dying – “that guy they found dead in the cul-de-sac”, lol)

      Another way to find interesting blogs is through comments 🙂

  • MAD MAN HATTER

    I THINK YOU HAVE IT FIGURED OUT! LIST MANY OTHERS BLOGS AS YOU CAN. DRIVE TRAFFIC TO THEM AND YOURS AT THE SAME TIME! NOW IF YOU NEED SOME HUMOR IN YOUR LIFE CLICK ON THE MAD MAN HATTER FOR FUN!

  • stinginthetail

    As i said, not my first blog, just my first public one – but i didn’t expect visitors so soon. (Omg, the place is a mess!) i thought it would take weeks at least. I do think the listing of other blogs gets stale real quick unless you’re real about it. 🙂

    I’ve had a quick look at your funny pics – i really have to get better internet, mine’s slow, and pic-based pages don’t load properly. *grumbles* I did get about half the front page – lol – have bookmarked for later

  • MAD MAN HATTER

    Thanks for looking! I do have a lot of crazy stuff on mine and yes it would take a slower or dial up computer a while to load!

    • stinginthetail

      it is faster than dial up, lol – got suckered with the broadband contract – only 250kbp download rate and upload even less – oh, the horror – most pic pages just hang – but contract is up in June! I’m looking forward to 10,000 kbp+ (or thereabouts) then 😀

  • darn it, do i have to be controversial? « Sting in the Tail

    […] yet, and if i don’t get it right, nobody will read. And then where will i be? Well, exactly – blogging in the dark is one thing, but blogging underground is […]

Leave a Reply

